Blended: Wes

Wes

What are your parent’s ethnic backgrounds?

My mother is Japanese and my father is Polish and Irish.

Can you speak any of these languages?

No.

Did you have any struggles growing up mixed race, such as any internal or external issues?

No internal issues, I never really thought about it. Externally, I remember vaguely being teased occasionally. But I don’t really remember anything specific.

Do you identify as mixed race or by one race?

Mixed race I guess, but I consider myself white more than anything else.

Do you feel like you’re part of more than one culture?

No, because since my parents were both born in the states, I was raised very American. I wasn’t raised more by one side than the other.

Do you feel, or have you felt, like you didn’t belong to either one of your ethnic groups?

That being said [above], I think other people identify me more Asian than anything else because that’s obviously the most distinguishable feature about me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

